Ranchi Rays claim HIL title

Fergus Kavanagh from Western Australia claimed his second Hockey India League title after winning the title back in 2013 with the former Ranchi Rhinos. 

Australian goalkeeper Tyler Lovell was the hero for the Ranchi Rays as the Hero Hockey India League concluded on Sunday evening with the Rays claiming this year’s title after defeating the Jaypee Punjab Warriors 3-2 in a grand final shoot-out.

Kookaburras Daniel Beale, Nick Budgeon, Lovell, Fergus Kavanagh and Trent Mitton aided their team to the ultimate victory following a 2-2 draw with a Japyee Punjab Warriors team also packed full of Australian stars. The Rays rode on goalkeeper Tyler Lovell’s brilliant show under the bar to earn a hard-fought win with the goalkeeper pulling off three saves in the shoot-out. During final presentations, Lovell was awarded Man of the Match after his standout performance.

22 year old Queenslander Daniel Beale showcased exceptional talent in his first Hockey India League season for the Rays, keeping his cool in shoot-outs in both the semi-final and final. 

In all, 11 Kookaburras took part in last night’s grand final. Showcasing seven past and present Kookaburras, the Jaypee Punjab Warriors were in the driving seat with goals from Australians Kieran Govers and Chris Ciriello despite having suffered a setback when their captain Jamie Dwyer missed the final due to a hamstring strain. But the Rays fought back to equalise twice to send the match to a shoot-out.

The third place playoff between the Delhi Waveriders and Uttar Pradesh Wizards had the Waveriders finish atop, 2-1. The Waveriders featured Australians Matt Gohdes, Tristan White and Jason Wilson with the Wizards showcasing George Bazeley and Eddie Ockenden.